To submit, please complete the application below.

Throughout the year you interact with nurses who are advancing excellence in nursing care for the prevention and treatment of addictions.  These nurses, working with diverse population across all practice settings should be recognized for their efforts related to advocacy, collaboration, education, research, and/or policy development. Nominate a fellow IntNSA member for an IntNSA Award!  Self nominations are also encouraged.

Eligibility & Requirements

  • The nominee must be a current member of IntNSA and an RN.
  • The nominee must be an attendee at the annual conference to receive the award.
  • Applications must include the nominees CV/Resume.
  • Applications require 2 letters of recommendation from IntNSA members.
  • Applications require documentation and evidence of expertise, service, and/or contributions must accompany nominations as appropriate (500 word max).


  • Education Award: Nominees are known as exemplary teachers who bring attention to addictions issues and stimulates knowledge development or research in addictions nursing through teaching.
  • Research Award: (Please note this is different from the IntNSA Research Grant.): Nominees introduce a significant new theory or conducts exemplary research development in addictions and communicate findings.
  • Management Award: Nominees initiate the development and implementation of innovative programs for addictions.
  • Clinical Care Award: Nominees holding a current CARN or CARN-AP demonstrate knowledge and expertise in addictions nursing and have made creative contributions in the service of quality care.
  • Peer Assistance Award: Nominees participate in the development and implementation of prevention and/or intervention programs in a peer assistance program.
  • Community Service/Advocacy Award: Nominees provide outstanding service that has a focused interest in prevention or intervention in addictions.
  • Mentoring Award: Nominees provide extraordinary mentorship.  The nomination is made by the mentee.
  • Chapter of the Year: Nominees are IntNSA chapters that have demonstrated growth, community service, peer assistance and/or advancing the profession and mission of IntNSA.
  • Newcomer of the Year: Nominees are among those who, after last year’s conference, have demonstrated motivation and provided service to IntNSA.
  • IntNSA Spirit Award: Nominees are an individual or organization who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of addictions.  Nominees are not a member of IntNSA or a nurse but a visionary, member of the general public, or member of the addictions field.

The submission deadline is January 8, 2024